iHerb Review

Slightly off the track from my usual posts – here is a tidbit of a review of products.

I came across this website a while back that sells natural products with best value and it has a very large selections ranging all the way from nutritional supplements to cosmetics and what not – you’ll know what I mean when you check out the website.

Because I wasn’t sure they were shipping it to where I live, I never really got around to purchasing anything. However, since I am in Korea for the time being and I know for sure they ship it here because it’s quiet popular among Koreans, I decided to try some of their products out.

(For those who are curious as I was, when writing your shipping address outside of the U.S., it’s advised to write them in your country language.)

Getting into the products I got – as skeptical I am about everything – I wasn’t really sure how the products would be despite seeing so many positive reviews about them so I just got 4 products to start off.

IMG_0096

IMG_0097

So nothing really fancy about the box here… I placed my order on Friday via Direct Korean Postal and the package arrived on Wednesday – which makes sense since it was a weekend and all. Thanks to the very convenient tracking service I could see that my package left LAX on Monday and arrived in Korea on Tuesday then was on my door step the very next day. So, a bit of an advise is try to place your orders on Monday, Tuesday and probably even Wednesday to avoid any delay in shipping.

IMG_0100

IMG_0101

Unboxing them… and NO I did not purchase an egg.

IMG_0102

Tadaa!

IMG_0103

IMG_0104

Ok, so this is a Avalon Organics, Biotin B-Complex Therapy, Thickening Shampoo which claims to do a lot for your hair such as to help build body in thin and fine hair, encourage hair growth, strengthens hair strands, etc.

Well, I gotta say this thing works like MAGIC. I now understand why this was the best selling product under Bath & Beauty. After using it for couple of days you can actually see how fast the hair grows and it actually makes the hair feel thicker and fuller. For me it wasn’t too noticeable since I already have a very long and thick hair but for my mom who has short and very fine hair, lets just say, she is bugging me to purchase couple of more bottles even before finishing this up!

IMG_0105

IMG_0106

The second product is this Herbatint (Antica Herbavita), Chamomile Hair Lightener. Though this product didn’t have much review I still wanted to try out and see if it really will help lighten my hair color (I dyed it black about an year ago and wanted to dye it back to brown but no salon would let me! They say it’s either going to be very spotty or it won’t make any difference at all – unless I bleach my entire head.) So instead of damaging my hair for life I decided to give this product a try and if it doesn’t work, oh well.

I guess you can’t really overlook what people think of certain products and the power of customer reviews because this product really was… MEH – didn’t do much and only itches my scalp when applying it.

IMG_0107

IMG_0109

Moving on to the next, Home Health, Blemish Treatment Lotion. I have lots of blemishes left from post acne scars and on going acne as well. This product had a pretty good review and I was tempted to try as I was anyway looking for natural skin care for my blemishes.

Like any other skin care products, it will take time for the results to show – if there is any.

However, so far I actually like this product and the smell is very refreshing – it’s kind of like applying lemonade on your face. It tingles a bit when applying but I think I can actually see mild lightening in my acne scars now.

IMG_0110

IMG_0111

IMG_0112

IMG_0113

Last but not least! I actually got this Avalon Organics, Vitamin C Renewal, Cream for my mom. It’s a cream “without synthetic fragrances, phthalates, harsh sulfates or parabens” and it also claims to “encourage daily skin repair and rejuvenation, this age-defying cream helps deeply rehydrate and rebuild the skin’s support structure”. –iHerb

I tried it couple of times as well – it smells like orange, not surprisingly, and it applies very smoothly. The texture of the cream itself though is pretty hard. In regards to whether it actually works or not – will have to wait longer and see.

IMG_0114

IMG_0116

Cute little sampled toothpaste they sent along.

Overall, I’m lovin’ the shampoo and the blemish lotion so far – and will let you guys know for further updates!

It’s been close to 2 months since I last reviewed iHerb.

Since then I shipped twice more from them with lots more products.

The second lot I ordered more of Avalon Organics, Biotin B-Complex Therapy, Thickening Shampoo and this time the conditioner as well.

I’ve raved about this product before and will again, this things works wonders. Purchased total of 10 bottles now and been sharing with all my relatives who’ve been suffering with hair loss, hair thinning and what not. Totally worth the try. I mean after all, it’s only 7.39 USD per bottle!

real-techniques-sponge-600x421The second item is the Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman, Miracle Complexion Sponge which is basically like a duplicate of a beauty blender. The only difference would be that this one has a flat side as well as the rounded side; it’s easier to apply generally all over your face as well as in precise areas with the rounded tip.

Well, it worked well for me… until my dog ate it. HAH I’ve always wanted to use this phrase but really, my dog took it from make up table and chewed it all up. So… yes that was my short lived experience with this sponge.

And you know how iHerb gives out one freebie of your choice (from the list they provide), this time I picked out Sierra Bees, Organic Pomegranate Beeswax Lip Balm with Vitamin E. Pleasant scent and very moisturizing.

The third lot which I received just today, contained more of Avalon Organics’s shampoos, some supplements, acne treatment gels and a concealer.

Nelson Bach USA, Pure & Clear, Acne Treatment Gel

green concealer

Physician’s Formula, Inc., Gentle Cover Concealer Stick, Cover Green

This thing I’m very excited to try out – a green concealer! Teehee. and No I believe it doesn’t show up as a shrekky green streaks on your face once blended. And they say that the green concealer is supposed to counteract and correct red toned blemishes.

Doctor’s Best, High Absorption CoQ10

Natural Factors, RxOmega-3 Factors

Jarrow Formulas, Jarro-Dophilus EPS

The three supplements above was one of the best sellers in the website.

United Exchange Corp, Moisturizing Socks

This I chose as another freebie. I’ve tried something similar to it by the Faceshop and it worked so well removing the dead skins on the heels of the feet (who needs a pedicure nowadays when everything can be done at home?) so I was very excited when they had this similar thing on their list.

So far, I’m having a very positive experience with the products that iHerb sells. Their website is very user friendly, the shipment is like super speedy with no complications whatsoever.

I’ll keep you guys posted again for any further updates.

One thought on “iHerb Review

Leave a Reply

