[bkk] sukhumvit: casa lapin x49

Casa Lapin x49

Sukhumvit 49
Klongtan Neua Wattana
081-257-7920
7.30 AM-9.30 PM
Parking N/A
Thonglor BTS Station
Free WiFi

https://www.facebook.com/CasaLapin

IMG_2752

Just around the corner across Samitivej Hospital (Sukhumvit) and before reaching Ka-nom bakery (if coming from the Sukhumvit road) you’ll be able to find the small, homely yet well decorated café deep into the alley.

IMG_2758

IMG_2760

They offer drip or french press with variety of single origin beans – you simply pick one up from their shelves and ask them which way you would like your coffee to be served. I love how fresh the beans are grinded and brewed at the spot!

It seems that interest in coffee and in the art of barista is growing rapidly in Bangkok and more people are searching for a freshly roasted and brewed coffees rather than typical cup of cappuccino and lattes like before.

IMG_2754

IMG_2765

I know this may not be very appetising but hey, even their restroom was decorated so cozily!

IMG_2769

‘cos Casa Lapin in French means House of Rabbits…

IMG_2763

IMG_2761

IMG_2759

IMG_2768

Bacon Cheese Roll [THB 85]

IMG_2783

Cappuccino [THB 85] & Ethiopian Yirgacheffe French Press [THB 140]

IMG_2777

Definitely a plus when they let you play with letter stamps!

Oh and that red velvet christmas cupcake [THB 95] was one of the best red velvets I had in a long time.

IMG_2792

Even if there are 2 floors inside – there aren’t that many seats available. So it’s probably best to visit outside caffeine-o-clock.

IMG_2793

IMG_2794

Too bad parking’s not available but if you decide to drive, you can always park in Samitivej hospital instead.

I’m sure even six months ago the coffee culture wasn’t all that strong here in Thailand. But for me, coffee was always something I enjoyed having (maybe a cup too many) and wanted to learn more about. Since Thailand didn’t offer any barista course for foreigners that I knew about, I decided to take advantage while I was in Korea.

I was surprised to find so many places offering certification courses, let alone barista!

So I took advantage of my long term stay and took on a Barista course. That’s right. I’m now an officially certified level 2 Barista!

Well, it would be my dream come true to open a small café of my own some time in the future but until then I’m just happy to have come back to so many newly opened cafés enthusiastic to offer speciality coffees and eager to allow people to experience coffee the ‘authentic’ way.

3 thoughts on “[bkk] sukhumvit: casa lapin x49

Leave a Reply

